Damien

Engine Cooling System - alot of heat

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to Rotary and have just invested in a mid year 2006 RX8.  Perhaps a little the worst for wear, but mostly it appears to be cosmetic at this point. I have just completed an oil and coolant change and both done without a hitch.  The car has 158,000kms on the clock but starts within the first second and appears to run very sweetly indeed.

When the car arrived (seller delivered it after a 3hr drive) the cooling fans were really at full blast and after engine shut down took about 10mins before silence.  This spurred me to change the coolant (as I don't accurately know the history and care I like to start from a clean slate)  Tonight (its 0 degrees out there) I took it for a quick drive - 10min drive and after start up 5mins sitting - but upon my return the cooling fans were on and didn't shut off for maybe 5-7 mins after engine off.  I can appreciate that this is the car's system for cooling but my question is after such a relatively short journey should the fans be needed to come on?  Temperature gauge is indicating that all is well and exactly where it should be so really nothing appears wrong but the car just seems 'hot'.  Perhaps the RX8 runs hot? Any 'this is normal' or 'you need to check this or that' would really be helpful.  Piston/Cylinder I totally get but Rotary - so interesting!

Thanks for your time.

Damien.

Hi and welcome to the forum Damien, does sound strange how it would be on for that long as the weather is quite cool, hopefully just something small triggering the fans to stay on like a faulty switch.
A code reader would help to see if you have any codes and how hot it is but If you don’t have a code reader where about are you and someone might be near by with a code reader for yah. Fair play for changing the coolant but any harm asking which coolant it was:)

muck and Aido - thank you both so much for replying to my query.