spla300

bought an rx7, any tips welcome

82 posts in this topic

http://irishrotary.com/forum/index.php?/topic/9024-new-member-from-longford/#comment-56614

Hi guys this is a continuation to the above link.

ive finally got an rx7, she dosent run, had a seized fuel pump, i fitted a good one and its pumping fuel also there is a spark but i dont know if injectors are firing i do smell petrol from exhaust though, i tried disconnecting power supply to fuel pump and cranking in case she was flooded but there are no signs of life.

there was an alarm which i removed, the original wiring was botched to get the alarm in.

the ecu is stock, has fancy blue samco hoses going to intercooler and a greddy metal intake thing on intake manifold, thats about it for the mods.

any ideas what else i could try? 

sorry photos wont upload the right way up.

IMG_0247.JPG

IMG_0251.JPG

IMG_0248.JPG

Where about are you based? I am no expert but spent 3 months trying to get my own one started. Was a bad ground causing that issue.

Happy to take a look with you if you are close to Cork.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

I think that one was bought in the UK recently and brought in. From the guys on the UK page, it was bought for £700 as it needs a full rebuild. Hopefully, they're all wrong but I suspect that you have more than a fuel pump issue there :(

Im in longford,

i dont mind the rebuild might aswel start pulling engine out tomorrow then i was gonna rebuild it anyway just wanted to get her to fire up.

I will need complete wiring since the one in it is botched also need an irish shell with logbook, the older the better, vrt will be pricey im sure.

Rex Ruthor likes this

VRT is about ~€1500 give or take on a 1993.

Have you tried compression-testing it? From the video that the previous owner posted up it sounded like it was low on compression in at least 2 chambers on one rotor.